2023 2024 Student Forum > Management Forum > Main Forum

5th June 2015, 11:13 AM
Unregistered

Biochemistry Syllabus Bangalore University

Hello sir I am a student of Bangalore University of B.Sc biochemistry and preparing for exam of my 1st semester of B.Sc biochemistry. Can you please provide me the details of syllabus of 1st semester of B.Sc biochemistry of BU?
5th June 2015, 11:26 AM
Super Moderator

Re: Biochemistry Syllabus Bangalore University

As per your request here I am providing you the details of the syllabus of 1st semester of B.Sc biochemistry of BU.

B.Sc. Biochemistry First Semester
Biochemistry – I

Unit-I
1. Measurement SI Units – International System of Units – Basic Units, Derived Units. Simple problems relating to derived units (conversions) – Prefixes, subsidiary units – Non SI units and their SI equivalents. Significant figures – and computarion Dimensional analysis for volume, density pressure, surface tension and viscosity. Exponential notation – expression of a large number in an exponential form; purposes, positive and negative powers of 10. Graphical representation of data – Types of graphs, Advantages of showing data in graphical forum. Errors in quantitative analysis – types ,sources minimization of errors. Precision and accuracy. Relationship between significant figures and precision .

2. Atomic structure Electromagnetic radiation – (wave length, frequency, velocity, wave number) electromagnetic spectrum,Nature of wave particle.
Quantum numbers & their significance (Principal quantum number, Azimuthal quantum
number(1) , Magnetic quantum number (m) and Spin quantum number [s] )
Shapes of Atomic orbitals – s, p and d orbitals. Pauli Exclusion Principle, Aufbau Principle, Hund’s rule of maximum multiplicity¬cause of stability of half filled and completely filled energy levels. Electronic configuration of elements up to At No