2023 2024 Student Forum > Management Forum > Main Forum

12th April 2016, 08:55 AM
Super Moderator
Join Date: May 2012
Re: Eightfold path of buddhism

the Noble Eightfold Path (] is one of the principal teachings of Śrāvakayāna. It is used to develop insight into the true nature of phenomena (or reality) and to eradicate greed, hatred, and delusion

All eight elements of the Path begin with the word "right," which translates the word samyaƱc (in Sanskrit) or sammā (in Pāli). These denote completion, togetherness, and coherence, and can also suggest the senses of "perfect" or "idea

the Eightfold Path of the Buddhisim is as follow :

Dhammalsaddhalpabbajja: A layman hears a Buddha teach the Dhamma, comes to have faith in him, and decides to take ordination as a monk;

sila: He adopts the moral precepts;

indriyasamvara: He practises "guarding the six sense-doors";

sati-sampajanna: He practises mindfulness and self-possession (actually described as mindfulness of the body, kdydnussati);

jhana 1: He finds an isolated spot in which to meditate, purifies his mind of the hindrances (nwarana), and attains the first rupa-jhana;

jhana 2: He attains the second jhana';

jhana 3: He attains the third jhana;

jhana 4: He attains the fourth jhana;

pubbenivasanussati-nana: he recollects his many former existences in samsara;
sattanam cutupapata-nana: he observes the death and rebirth of beings according to their karmas;

dsavakkhaya-nana: He brings about the destruction of the dsavas (cankers), and attains a profound realization of (as opposed to mere knowledge about) the four noble truths;

vimutti: He perceives that he is now liberated, that he has done what was to be done.

Quick Reply
Your Username: Click here to log in


Thread Tools Search this Thread

All times are GMT +5. The time now is 06:21 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2

1 2 3 4