2023 2024 Student Forum > Management Forum > Main Forum

3rd July 2018, 04:39 PM
Re: Aligarh Muslim University is in

Can you tell me where is Aligarh Muslim University (AMU) located? Also list me the names of notable alumni of Aligarh Muslim University (AMU)?
3rd July 2018, 04:40 PM
Super Moderator
Join Date: Aug 2012
Re: Aligarh Muslim University is in

Aligarh Muslim University (AMU) is an Indian public central university. It was originally established by Sir Syed Ahmad Khan as Mohammedan Anglo-Oriental College in 1875.

The university offers more than 300 courses in both traditional and modern branches of education. In addition to this it has its three off-campus centres at Malappuram (Kerala), Murshidabad (West Bengal) and Kishanganj (Bihar).

Contact Detail:
Aligarh Muslim University
Aligarh, Uttar Pradesh 202001

Aligarh Muslim University Alumni Names

Javed Akhtar, Hindi/Urdu lyricist and scriptwriter
Naseeruddin Shah, Hindi/Urdu film actor
Raaj Kumar, Hindi/Urdu film actor
Saeed Jaffrey (OBE), Hindi/Urdu/English film actor
Habib Tanveer, Hindi/Urdu film actor and theater director
Khwaja Ahmad Abbas, Hindi/Urdu film director, novelist, screenwriter and journalist
Ali Sardar Jafri, Urdu poet, critic, Hindi/Urdu film lyricist
Anubhav Sinha, film director
Md Saba Noor Smart,student
Authors and scholars
Syed Zainul Abedin, founder of the Institute of Muslim Minority Affairs;[2] father of Huma Abedin
Maulvi Abdul Haq, Urdu scholar
Salman Al-Azami, senior lecturer in English language at Liverpool Hope University
Agha Ashraf Ali, educationist, scholar and academic
Basharat Peer, journalist, author, and political commentator
Ishwari Prasad, historian, first graduate of Muhammedan Anglo-Oriental College
Akhtarul Wasey, academician and Padma Shri recipient
Raja Rao, author, professor, and Padma Bhushan recipient
Farhat Basir Khan, media producer, media expert, pioneer of Indian modern media education, scholar, theorist, founder of academic institutions
Akshay Kumar Jain, journalist; former editor of Navbharat Times; Padma Bhushan recipient
K M Baharul Islam, professor, Indian Institute of Management Kashipur and Fellow, Indian Institute of Advanced Study, Shimla
Rahi Masoom Raza, author and poet
Irfan Habib, historian
Salma Siddiqui, Urdu novelist
Punathil Kunjabdulla, is a well-known Malayalam language novelist and poet from Kerala state, South India. He is a medical doctor by profession.
Obaidur Rahman Siddiqui well known historian from Ghazipur
Asrar ul Haq Majaz known as Majaz Lakhnawi well famous Indian Urdu poet from Faizabad
Deeba Salim Irfan, author and poet
Heads of state and government
Syeda Anwara Taimur, First women Chief Minister of Assam 1980-1981
Sheikh Abdullah, Prime Minister of Jammu and Kashmir State 1948-1953
Muhammad Mansur Ali, Prime Minister of Bangladesh January 1975-August 1975
Khan Habibullah Khan Marwat,(1901-1978), Justice (Retired), first Chairman of the Senate of Pakistan, Acting President Islamic Republic of Pakistan (197778); former interior Minister & Minister for Kashmir Affairs, Deputy Speaker Legislative Assembly One Unit
Liaquat Ali Khan, first Prime Minister of Pakistan (1947-1951)
Mohammad Hamid Ansari, Vice President of India from 2007-2017
Fazal Ilahi Chaudhry, President of Pakistan 1973-1978
Mohamed Amin Didi, first President of Maldives JanuaryAugust 1953
Zakir Hussain, President of India 1967-1969
Ayub Khan, President of Pakistan 1958-1969 (didn't complete his degree)
Khan Habibullah Khan, acting President of Pakistan 1977-1978
Nawab Hamidullah Khan, the last ruler of Bhopal
Malik Ghulam Muhammad, Governor General 1951-1955; Minister of Finance 1947-1951
Khawaja Nazimuddin, Governor General 1948-1951; Prime Minister of Pakistan 1951-1953
Khan Abdul Ghaffar Khan, Pashtun Leader; conferred with Independent India's highest civilian honour, Bharat Ratna
Khan Habibullah Khan, Justice (retired) Peshawar High Court; first Chairman of the Senate of Pakistan, Acting President Islamic Republic of Pakistan (197778); former Interior Minister and Minister for Kashmir Affairs; Deputy Speaker Legislative Assembly One Unit
Mohsina Kidwai, Leader of Indian National Congress; Cabinet Minister in Uttar Pradesh Government; Member of Parliament (Rajya Sabha)
P. K. Abdu Rabb, Member of Legislative Assembly; Minister in Kerela Government
Azam Khan, Leader of Samajwadi Party; Member of Legislative Assembly (eight times); Cabinet Minister in Uttar Pradesh Government (four times); Member of Parliament (Rajya Sabha)
Rafi Ahmed Kidwai, Leader of Indian National Congress; Independent India's first Communication Minister
Mufti Muhammad Sayeed, former CM of J&K
Moinul Hoque Choudhury, a five time MLA of Assam; he was the minister of Industry during Indira Gandhi regime in 1971
Mansur Hoda, scientist in the area of appropriate technology in India
Shahid Jameel, virologist, Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar laureate
Kazi Mobin-Uddin, inventor of the inferior vena cava filter
Syed Ziaur Rahman, pharmacologist
Azarmi Dukht Safavi, master of Persian literature, established Persian Language Research Center of the Aligarh University
Hassan Nasiem Siddiquie, marine geologist, Padma Shri recipient and Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar laureate
K. P. Mohanakumar, chemical biologist, N-Bios laureate
Asad Ullah Khan, microbiologist, N-Bios laureate
Justice Saiyed Saghir Ahmad, Supreme Court of India
Justice Syed Murtaza Fazl Ali, Supreme Court of India; chief justice, J & K. High Court
Justice Baharul Islam, Supreme Court of India (1980-1983), Chief Justice of Gauhati High Court
Justice Ram Prakash Sethi, Supreme Court of India
Prof. Moonis Raza, Vice Chancellor of Delhi University, Founder Chairman and Rector of Jawaharlal Nehru University
Masud Choudhary , Founder- Vice Chancellor of Baba Ghulam Shah Badshah University
Prof. Talat Ahmed, Vice Chancellor of Jamia Millia Islamia
Abdul Aleem, Vice Chancellor of Aligarh Muslim University
Abu Bakr Ahmad Haleem, first Vice Chancellor of Karachi University
Sheikh Ahmad Hassan, Vice Chancellor of West Pakistan University of Engineering and Technology
Sahibzada Aftab Ahmad Khan, Vice Chancellor of Aligarh Muslim University
Javed Musarrat, Vice Chancellor of Baba Ghulam Shah Badshah University
Masud Husain Khan, 5th Vice-Chancellor of Jamia Millia Islamia; father of Urdu-linguistics
Faizan Mustafa, Vice Chancellor of Nalsar University of Law
Lala Amarnath, former Indian cricket captain
Dhyan Chand, former Olympian and hockey captain
Akhtar Hussain, former field hockey player and Olympian
Zafar Iqbal, former field hockey player
Roedad Khan, former Secretary General Ministry of Interior Pakistan
Syed Babar Ashraf, former General Secretary, All India Ulema and Mashaikh Board, and member
Frank F Islam, entrepreneur, investor and philanthropist; head of the FI Investment Group; founder and CEO of the QSS Group
Faizan Mustafa, Vice-Chancellor, NALSAR University of Law, Hyderabad; founder Vice-Chancellor, National Law University, Orissa
Ashok Seth, cardiologist
Mohit Lakhtakia, Real Estate Consultant and Advisor

Quick Reply
Your Username: Click here to log in


Thread Tools Search this Thread

All times are GMT +5. The time now is 07:05 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2

1 2 3 4