2021 2022 Student Forum > Management Forum > Main Forum

17th October 2017, 01:48 PM
Super Moderator
Join Date: Aug 2012
Re: History Of Municipal Corporation Of Delhi

Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) is a municipal corporation, an autonomous body that governs 8 of the 11 Districts of Delhi, in the state of Delhi, India.


Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) was set up in the 7th of April, 1958 under and Act of Parliament. Prior to that DMC ( Delhi Municipal Committee ) was the principal civic body of Delhi. Eminent Freedom Fighter Guru Radha Kishan has the honour to represent MCD ( initially Delhi Municipal Committee ) for most consecutive years as a Councillor.

The first elected Mayor of Delhi was Pt. Trilok Chand Sharma served as First Mayor of Delhi. Since then, the Municipal Body has always been alive in its constitution and functioning to the growing needs of citizens. The 1993 amendment of the Act brought about fundamental changes in composition, functions, governance and administration of the corporation.

Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) area is divided into 12 zones spread across three smaller municipal corporations:

North Delhi Municipal Corporation
Karol Bagh
Sadar Paharganj
Civil Lines
South Delhi Municipal Corporation
Central Delhi
South Delhi
West Delhi
East Delhi Municipal Corporation
Shahdara South
Shahdara North

Quick Reply
Your Username: Click here to log in


Thread Tools Search this Thread

All times are GMT +5. The time now is 05:09 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2

1 2 3