CSIR Young Scientist Awards 2012

Instituted in 1987, CSIR Young Scientist Awards seek to promote in-house excellence in various fields of science and technology. CSIR scientist, upto 35 years of age, as reckoned on *26 September (CSIR Foundation Day)* of the preceding year, is eligible for the Award. These awards are given annually in the following fields:

- Biological Sciences
- Chemical Sciences
- Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean and Planetary Sciences
- Engineering Sciences
- Physical Sciences (including instrumentation)

Each award consists of a citation, a cash prize of ₹ 50,000/- (Rupees fifty thousand only) and a plaque. CSIR Young Scientist Awardees are also entitled to a research grant of ₹ 5.0 lakhs (Rupees five lakh only) per annum for a period of five years.

Till 2011, 147 scientists (including 17 women scientists) have received the CSIR Young Scientist Awards and out of these 16 scientists have been conferred with the prestigious Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize. For the year 2012, Advisory Committee consisting of eminent scientists recommended the following ten scientists for the CSIR Young Scientist Awards.

BIOLOGICAL SCIENCES

Dr Avinash Mishra

The CSIR Young Scientist Award for the year 2012 in Biological Sciences has been awarded to Dr Avinash Mishra of CSIR-Central Salt and Marine Chemicals Research Institute, Bhavnagar, for his research on understanding adaptation of microalgae and plants to salt stress and towards development of potential biotechnological applications.



Dr Vinod Scaria

The CSIR Young Scientist Award for the year 2012 in Biological Sciences has been awarded to Dr Vinod Scaria of CSIR-Institute of Genomics and Integrative Biology, Delhi, for his outstanding contributions in the field of microRNA biology and for developing computational tools for the analysis of genomic data.



CHEMICAL SCIENCES

Dr Dipti Prakasini Das

The CSIR Young Scientist Award for the year 2012 in Chemical Sciences has been awarded to Dr Dipti Prakasini Das of CSIR-Institute of Minerals and Materials Technology, Bhubaneswar, for her excellent contributions in the design of novel photocatalysts and their applications in the area of solar energy conversion.



Dr N Lakshminarasimhan

The CSIR Young Scientist Award for the year 2012 in Chemical Sciences has been awarded to Dr N Lakshminarasimhan of CSIR-Central Electrochemical Research Institute, Karaikudi, for his excellent contributions in understanding structure-property relations of inorganic oxides and their use in energy systems.



EARTH, ATMOSPHERE, OCEAN & PLANETARY SCIENCES

Dr Pawan Dewangan

The CSIR Young Scientist Award for the year 2012 in Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean and Planetary Sciences has been awarded to Dr Pawan Dewangan of CSIR-National Institute of Oceanography, Goa, for his significant contribution towards understanding the gas hydrate system in Krishna-Godavari offshore basin; which is distributed along the fault system due to shale tectonism.



Dr R Ebhin Masto

The CSIR Young Scientist Award for the year 2012 in Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean and Planetary Sciences has been awarded to Dr R Ebhin Masto of CSIR-Central Institute of Mining and Fuel Research, Dhanbad, for his outstanding contributions to the study of soil quality in coal industrial areas, fly ash and soil carbon sequestration through biochar.



ENGINEERING SCIENCES

Dr Mugdha Chetan Gadgil

The CSIR Young Scientist Award for the year 2012 in Engineering Sciences has been awarded to Dr Mugdha Chetan Gadgil of CSIR-National Chemical Laboratory, Pune, for her contributions in the general area of enhanced protein production including development of novel hydrogel based systems for animal cell culture.



Dr Priyanka Heda Maheshwari

The CSIR Young Scientist Award for the year 2012 in Engineering Sciences has been awarded to Dr Priyanka Heda Maheshwari of CSIR-National Physical Laboratory, New Delhi, for her exceptional contributions in developing carbon based advanced materials for future clean energy requirements of the country.



PHYSICAL SCIENCES (INCLUDING INSTRUMENTATION)

Dr Poonam Arora

The CSIR Young Scientist Award for the year 2012 in Physical Sciences (including instrumentation) has been awarded to Dr Poonam Arora of CSIR-National Physical Laboratory, New Delhi, for her crucial contributions to the Cesium Fountain Frequency Standard bringing together a variety of scientific and technological skills in a unique effort in the country.



Shri Umesh Tiwari

The CSIR Young Scientist Award for the year 2012 in Physical Sciences (including instrumentation) has been awarded to Shri Umesh Tiwari of CSIR-Central Scientific Instruments Organisation, Chandigarh, for his innovative and significant contributions in the area of optical fiber based sensors particularly in developing fiber grating sensors for novel applications in industrial and medical areas.

