



39th INTERNATIONAL CONFERENCE OF LINGUISTIC SOCIETY OF INDIA (ICOLSI-39)

08-11, December, 2017

Department of Humanities and Social Sciences and Department of Computer Science and Engineering

Indian Institute of Technology Patna

In association with

Central Institute of Indian Languages

First Announcement and Call for Papers

We are pleased to announce that the **Department of Humanities and Social Sciences and the Department of Computer Science and Engineering, IIT Patna**, India will host the 39th International Conference of the Linguistic Society of India (ICOLSI-39). Abstracts are invited for oral and poster presentations on substantial, original and unpublished research on all aspects of theoretical and applied linguistics, with particular focus on languages and linguistic applications relevant to South Asia.

Paper Topics:

The areas of interest include, but are not limited to, the following (alphabetically sorted):

Artificial intelligence	Cognitive Linguistics	Computational Linguistics
Corpus Linguistics	Discourse Analysis	Endangered Languages& Vitality
Forensic linguistics	Indian Grammatical Tradition	Language Documentation
Language Teaching	Language Contact	Language Change
Language Processing	Language Technology	Linguistic Typology
Machine Learning	Machine Translation	Morphology
Natural Language Processing	Pedagogy	Phonetics
Phonology	Pragmatics	Psycholinguistics
Semantics	Sign Language	Sociolinguistics
Stylistics	Syntax	Translation

Keynote Speaker

Professor P. J. Austin (SOAS, UK)

Radhabai Katre Memorial Lecture:

Prof. Pramod Kumar Pandey (JNU, New Delhi).

Plenary Speakers:

- 1. Prof. Pushpak Bhattacharyya (Director, IIT Patna)
- 2. Prof. Caroline Féry, University of Frankfurt
- 3. Prof. K.V. Subbarao (University of Hyderabad)
- 4. Prof. Shreesh Chaudhary (IIT Madras)

Special Sessions

ICOLSI 39 will have special sessions on Natural language Processing, Machine Learning and Artificial Intelligence focusing on the interface of language and technology especially for the lesser known languages of Eastern India.

Plenary Speakers for Special Sessions:

- 1. Prof. Joakim Nivre (Uppsala University
- 2. Prof. Girish Nath Jha (JNU, New Delhi)
- 3. Ms. Kalika Bali (Microsoft Research- India)
- 4. Dr. Niladri Dash (ISI, Kolkata)

Awards

D.P.Pattanayak Award: For the best conference paper by a student in Applied Linguistics.

Bh. Krishnamurti Award: For the best conference paper by a student on any discipline other than Applied Linguistics.

Interested students may please send the full paper to the organizers on or before 31stOctober 2017.

Submission guidelines:

Abstracts should be submitted in English and should be sent by August 20, 2017 at https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=icolsi39. Participants are requested not to

include author details in the abstract and the final paper to facilitate blind review. A word file consisting of the name and affiliation of the author must be sent in a separate file.

Authors may submit no more than one individual or one joint (co-authored) proposal (ONLY ONE ABSTRACT PER AUTHOR). More than one entry will be rejected. The abstracts should be anonymous, and fit on at most 2 pages including examples, tables/figures and references (using 12-point TIMES NEW ROMAN with 1" margins).

Queries related to Abstract Submission may be addressed to Dr. Sweta Sinha at icolsi39@gmail.com.

Conference Information Page:

http://www.iitp.ac.in/index.php/departments/humanities-and-social-sciences/events/upcoming-events.html

All paper presenters have to be LSI members by the time they register for the conference.

Important Dates:

Abstract submission deadline: August 20, 2017
Notification of acceptance: September 10, 2017
Submission of full paper: October 31, 2017
Conference: December 8-11, 2017

Registration Fee:

The registration fee is as follows:

1. Participants from SAARC countries Rs. 3000/-

(including India):

Students (India)
 All others:
 USD 150

(One hundred and fifty

US dollars)

Registration fee includes conference kit, modest accommodation and boarding facility for SAARC delegates. For local delegates, registration fee includes conference kit and refreshments only. Delegates who wish to have hotel accommodation at their own expense may contact the organizers well in advance at icolsi39@gmail.com. Modest accommodation will be provided to Paper Presenters on "first-come, first served" basis (depending upon receipt of the registration fee in advance). A list of hotels and similar facilities (to be booked and paid by the participants on their own) will be uploaded on the Linguistic Society of India web-site (www.lsi.org.in) and the conference website in due course.

Please note that accompanying person(s), if any, also have to register.

The Conference Registration Form should be sent along with the Fee payment in advance. This is obligatory for all paper presenters. We regret that we will be unable to accept late registrations.

Mode of payment of Registration Fee:

For Paper Presenters: Last date for paying Registration Fee (by Money Order / Bank transfer / DD: 30 September, 2017.

Mode of payment Bank Transfer: The fee may be sent by Bank Transfer into the bank account of the Conference, with a scanned copy of the payment receipt being sent to icolsi39@gmail.com.

The details of the bank account of the Conference are:

• Name of the Account: Registrar, IIT Patna

• Account Number: 30957551934

• Name of the Bank: State Bank of India

• Name of the Branch: SBI, IIT Patna

• IFSC Code of the Branch: SBIN0017164

• MICR Code of the Bank and branch: 801002005

• Swift code: SBININBB156

For persons coming from abroad:

Registration Fee (in Indian Rupees) may be paid in advance or through bank transfer.

Conference Registration Form:

The form can be downloaded from www.lsi.org.in or conference website.

Travel:

The participants are requested to make their own travel arrangements and arrange for funding from their respective organizations.

Email address for all electronic correspondence: <u>icolsi39@gmail.com</u>.

Membership of the LSI:

All paper presenters need to be members of the LSI. Details about LSI membership may be found at:www.lsi.org.in

Organizing Committees:

Patron: Prof. Pushpak Bhattacharyya, Director, IIT Patna

Dr. Smriti Singh (HSS, IIT Patna)

Dr. Asif Ekbal (CSE, IIT Patna)

Dr. Sweta Sinha (HSS, IIT Patna)

Dr. Shailendra Mohan, (Secretary, LSI, Pune)

National Advisory Committee

Prof. Anvita Abbi, President, Linguistic Society of India

Dr. Umarani Pappuswamy, Vice- President, Linguistic Society of India

Dr. Mayank Tiwari, Associate Dean, R & D, IIT Patna

Dr. Naveen K. Nischal (Associate Professor, Department of Physics), IIT Patna.

Contact:

Address for all postal correspondence:

ICOLSI-39.

Programme Committee ICOLSI 39 Department of Humanities and Social Sciences Block 6, Floor 5, Indian Institute of Technology Patna Bihta, Patna, Bihar 801103

Phone: 0612-3028399, 0612-3028681